The Early Middle Ages, the High Middle Ages & the Late Middle Ages

I have just completed the three part series of audio lectures, The Middle Ages, and it is with heavy heart that I bid adieu to Professor Philip Daileader.

Dear Professor Daileader,

Thank-you for your middle ages audio lecture series, I cannot stop telling everyone I know about it! Naturally I now scrutinize today’s society and institutions for connections to the middle ages, marveling at what has become of the seeds of modernity and pondering why we choose to keep pockets of backwardness in our own century.

Here are some of my favorite parts:

The printing press and all its entomological and spelling ramifications; the humanist movement; Spanish and Portuguese explorations; snuggled potatoes; Black Death; the terrifying theoretical end game of democracy; the righteous origins of Christianity and the corrupt Catholic mess it spawned; how different our society would be if Constantine hadn’t converted (More violent? Less repressed?); Barbarians (butter and the Pants they wore); how Rome falls (not due to social deviance); our inherent desire for war and power; the truth about witches (there were men witches?!) and the inquisition; what the heck a Merovingian is (not just a Matrix character); Crusades (amazed Frederick II negotiated Jerusalem); Chivalric knights play roll-playing games (geeks in the middle ages); realizing there are an inordinate amount of fonts named after barbarian tribes, their lands and landmarks; and among the many other fascinations I have surely missed I found a deep connection to the subject matter because I am a French citizen from Valognes, Normandy as well as an American citizen and see how truly English the United States is.

Now that I’ve completed the Middle Ages, I can only hope you will have future audio courses. In the mean time I’m interested in a few of the books recommended at the end of the High Middle Ages lecture and will give yours a shot as well J

Cheers,

Sarah Eakins

P.S. I listened to your lectures in the day to and from work and played Assassin’s Creed II at night in which part of the games’ objectives is to learn about historical figures, places and events during the Italian Renaissance. Now I am watching Caprica, which deals with the birth of a Single God religion in a Pagan society. I feel wonderfully and deeply immersed in all things middle ages!

Leave a Reply

