Tori Amos New Album and Concert

Tori Amos new album Night of Hunters release date September 20th 2011

I’ve loved nearly everything Tori Amos has put out for all sorts of reasons. Little Earthquakes and Under the Pink were with me as I was coming of age. Boys for Pele and From the Choir Girl Hotel were fun to explore the fringes: darkness, anger, desperation, and even silliness. Ultimately, she helped me realize I had license to be myself – the worst case scenario being that I’m a weird-o, and best case scenario being that I’m a super-awesome, creative free-thinking woman.

With the release of Scarlet’s Walk, Tori blew me away she applied the concept of Framing to her work, she had suddenly become an Artist in the broadest sense of the word… at lease that’s when the fog cleared and I noticed. She’s always written about women and the roles they play in life and religion, their struggles, and the power of their sexuality – but now she’s a conceptual authority on the subject. Which is why I so eagerly anticipate this newest release.

I found a great quote Tori gave about the album, in the following Morton Report excerpt:

“It’s a 21st century song cycle inspired by classical music themes spanning over 400 years. I have used the structure of a song cycle to tell an ongoing, modern story.

“The protagonist is a woman,” she continues, “who finds herself in the dying embers of a relationship. In the course of one night she goes through an initiation of sorts that leads her to reinvent herself allowing the listener to follow her on a journey to explore complex musical and emotional subject matter. One of the main themes explored on this album is the hunter and the hunted and how both exist within us.”

This morning, James and I scored tickets to her concert, dates are December 17 & 18th at the Orphium. If you want to check out the ticketmaster pre-sale, the password is NIGHT. I couldn’t be more excited – it’s damnably far off – but gives me plenty of time to soak up the new album.

And of course, doesn’t Tori look AMAZING?!!

One thought on “Tori Amos New Album and Concert

Leave a Reply

