Gooseberry Fool

Fresh green gooseberries in the wild

I just cooked up and savored my first ever gooseberry fool.

I noticed gooseberries at the market and, curiosity winning, bought them without thought of what to do with them. Silly me, I thought I could pop those tiny green globes like a blueberry… puckering up, I realized my error.
I found the recipe for gooseberry fool easily, out of the supremely limited recipe options for gooseberries. I don’t usually make desserts, but the name had the ring of a time far gone, and the ingredients were supremely indulgent.
Basically cream and home simmered jam, it’s absolutely divine!

Image of prepared gooseberry fool

Recipe as I made it:

1 cup gooseberries (container at store) topped and tailed
3 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp water
Combine ingredients in a saucepan at medium heat, cover and cook for 5 min. Reduce to simmer and mash the gooseberries into a purée.
Chill for at least an hour in the fridge.

Whip 4 tbsp of heavy cream and 1 tbsp of creme fraiche until stiff. Whip in 2 tbsp of confectioner’s sugar

Fold chilled gooseberry purée into the stiffened cream.

Place into a pretty glass serving bowl and enjoy!

Makes about 1.5 servings, but I ate it all and cared not to look up the calories!

Leave a Reply

