DaVinci’s Demons – 2 Shows left and it’s finally rocking

My husband and I have very similar tastes in movies and tv – scify, cerebral dramas, weird adult swim programming, but sometimes I go way off the radar, and it’s in that place that my nighttime TV shows reside. The ones I watch to ease me into sleep, but more and more, with some shows, I find myself eager to see what happens next.

DaVinci’s Demons [Stars] is no exception. I started watching because I love a good romanticization of history, and I have a special place in my heart for the Late Middle Ages/Renaissance Period. I learned it’s beautiful score is by Bear McCreary, of Battlestar Galactica & Walking Dead fame, and the story is created by David S. Goyer, a co-writer on the Dark Knight trilogy movies. There is adventure, intrigue, lovely visual effects of young DaVinci’s mind at work, and core plot themes of a mystical nature. However, the biggest drawback, and why this is truly a “nighttime” tv show, is that it goes off the rails quite often from the main, completely awesome storyline – all the time – trudging around in a boring plot about Florence vs. Rome and the thuggish Papacy.

Until episode 6, the Devil.

20130520-111635.jpg

Vlad the Impaler scarred from a lifetime in prison. The eyes forshadow his supernatural nature

The character Da Vinci is hesitant to recognize there are mystical elements in the world, elements which a man so analytical and science minded as himself has difficulty understanding. However, in this episode Leo & Co adventure from Florence to Walachia, and must meet face-to-face with Vlad the Impaler (yup, Dracula). Ridiculous to be sure, but it really turns the whole show around, finally shedding some light on some core story lines and mysteries throughout, including time travel, the Turk’s magic and who the heck Leo’s mother really is.

20130520-111649.jpg

Just an amazing shot. This show really knows how to create a dramatic image.

Much like Elizabeth Kostova’s The Historian Dracula is presented in a very historic way, and eases the viewer into the supernatural. I love stories that walk a delicate line between history and fantasy. The Abyssinian tells Leo

Hell happens when the evil of the world exceeds our belief that we can conquer it.

And that is exactly what Vlad the Impaler is: Hell breaking loose. I have a feeling we’ll see more of him, and I hope the show keeps up with this direction. With only 2 episodes left, I cannot wait!

Interested in watching the series? It’s on Stars and Stars on demand, and there’s an episode catchup marathon this Friday.

Read Bear’s blog about episode 6, his approach to scoring and see the gorgeous photos from the episode

Read a full review of episode 6 and get a general concept of the show.

Leave a Reply

